Posted by: S.G. Miller | March 3, 2013

Coping with Failure

This past Friday, after almost five straight days of riding, my knees threatened full rebellion if I pressed on further. They throbbed so bad each day that even standing up or walking was a chore.  I knew if I pressed on my body would break and I’d be stranded somewhere. This was not a viable option.   With much regret and sorrow, I must officially announce a premature end to my bicycle tour and have gotten a train back to my home, St. Louis.

I will continue writing, maybe on this blog maybe on a new one. I’m going to continue in the vein of bicycle news/tips and tricks as I’m taking this time to go back to work and focus on developing my passing interest of bicycle maintenance and repair into a job.  I’m enrolling in grant writing classes this spring/summer and will be writing grant letters for local bicycle advocacy groups.  For now, my travel writing is on halt but I’ve been inspired to continue writing about food.  When I get a more regular income you can expect to see reviews of local St. Louis gems (and as St. Louis foodies know, we’re a treasure trove for excellent small restaurants).

I almost certain that this announcement will isolate many of my readers and for that I’m sad but that’s just how the chips fell, folks.

It maybe a while before I have more content to post, but probably not more than a week or two (finding a new job and school will consume a lot of my time, however I have a feeling that even juggling a job and school will take less effort/time than trying to couch surf and study maps and find camp spots).

 

Thanks for all the reads and support folks,

-Sam Miller

Responses

  1. Forgive the intrusion, but I wanted to thank you for liking my Marigold/Recipe post.

    Get your own app with a prospective 80 million readership reach for your wonderful Blog:

    http://pfcsystems.wordpress.com/2013/03/08/would-you-like-your-own-app-for-your-blog-on-blackberryworld/

    I would like to offer you your own app for $99 which will include marketing for a specified period. Please, get back to me if you are interested, by March 15, 2013 for this reduced rate.

    Best wishes,
    Fernando
    Info@PFCSystems.net

    • I appreciate you’re recognition, however I’m not interested in your offer. I appreciate it, but no thank you.

  2. Sam, I’m so sorry to hear about your knee problems, and your having to stop your bike tour. As a bike tourist myself, I know how hard these tours can be on your body, and ultimately, you have to be concerned about your long-term health. I wish you all the best in your future endeavors, and hopefully, you’ll be back in the saddle soon. Happy Trails, James


Leave a Reply

Categories

freaksexual

activist analysis of bisexuality, polyamory, and BDSM

SpiritsAndCocktails.com

Jamie Boudreau will be your bartender today....

Vegan in the Kitchen

My new journey as a vegan cook!

Cauldrons and Cupcakes

Celebrating Life, Spirituality, Creativity and Kindness!

valeriu dg barbu

© valeriu barbu

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

pfcsystems

entertainment, food, news, science, technology, travel

More Than Don't Have Sex

Thoughts on Christ Centered Singleness and the Church

Chaos Sweeps Away the World We Know! The Disaster, current events & Catastrophe Blog. Forecasts for 2014 to 2022. Read tomorrows news today! Plus current economic, commodities, stock indices and financial news.

Current economic events and news Financial Astrology, earth changes, disasters, volcanoes, floods, news, miscellaneous, earthquakes, fires, reviews, airplane disasters, shipwrecks, train accidents, tornadows, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, tzuanmis, explosions, nuclear accidents, riots, pollution droughts, famines, heat & cold waves, stampedes, war and earth pole flips.

Hollis Plample

draws comics

oh my omiyage

THE SWEET AND SAVORY OF TOKYO LIFE

Bali Best Point Property

Find your dream property right here, right now....

LOVE-the secret ingredient

Like to cook? Like to eat? Be a part of the conversation.

FWJ

the FREELANCE WRITING JOURNAL

Realistic Cooking Ideas

for Busy People! And sharing our life adventures along the way!

My Big Fat Food Coma

News, How-to's and All Things Food

Sparrow Life

"You're only human. You live once and life is wonderful, so eat the damn red velvet cupcake." - EMMA STONE

